Music Subscription Databases
Logging on from home or work?
Remote access to several of our databases is currently unavailable. We are working to resolve this issue.
You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may register for one online.
Please make sure that you are accessing this page via http://www.carnegielibrary.org/ and NOT clpgh.org. Click here to correct.
Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.
Music Research
| The Jazz Discography | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Everything you need to know about virtually any jazz record ever released. The Jazz Discography gives you accurate, detailed information on over 100 years of recorded jazz in all genres.
| ||||
| JSTOR | Library Access Only (CLP Only) | NO Remote Access | ||
|
Full-text archives of many core scholarly journals, particularly in the humanities, social sciences & music.
| ||||
| Music in Print | Main Library Access Only | NO Remote Access | ||
|
lists currently available printed music.
| ||||
| Music Index | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Citations to articles appearing in music periodicals back to 1979.
| ||||
| Oxford Music Online | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online (includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Grove Dictionary of Jazz and Grove Dictionary of Opera) and The Oxford Companion to Music.
| ||||
Listen Online: Streaming Music
| African American Song | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
African American Song is now a part of American Song! To listen to historical recordings of African American music, visit American Song or Music Online Plus.
| ||||
| American Song | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
This site contains over 12,000 tracks (with more added regularly) that illustrate our country’s history through music. Songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children and many others are included. Of particular interest is the index by historical event.
| ||||
| Classical Music Online | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Listen to classical music online
| ||||
| Contemporary World Music | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
A new addition, this site aims to be one that “delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent.” Currently this constantly growing site features over 8,000 tracks of music from around the world.
| ||||
|
DRAM Online
Digital Recordings of American Music |
Library Access
CLP-Main Only | NO Remote Access | ||
|
A scholarly resource of recordings, including liner notes and essays, from New World Records, Composers Recordings (CRI) and other labels such as Albany, Frog Peak, Mode, and XI.
Only available within the Main Library of the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh | ||||
| Music Online Plus | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Explore all of our Alexander Street Press music databases via the Music Online Plus interface. This portal lets you search and use materials from American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound without having to jump from database to database.
| ||||
| Naxos Music Library | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Listen to classical, jazz and world music online.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
| ||||
| Naxos Music Library Jazz | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Listen to streaming audio of jazz music.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
| ||||
| Opera in Video | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Opera in Video is allows library cardholders to watch opera on demand. This frequently updated database contains streaming video of great opera performances from the Baroque period through the 20th century, as well as interviews and documentaries.
| ||||
| Smithsonian Global Sound | Library Access |
Remote access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Listen to world, folk and traditional music online.
| ||||
Music Scores Online
| Naxos Music Library Sheet Music |
LIMITED*
Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
View and download classical and jazz sheet music.
This database requires the Freehand Solero Viewer plugin to download and view sheet music.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
* ONLY accessible in Music, Film and Audio, Main Library, Oakland
| ||||

How Do I










