Magazine and Newspaper Databases
Logging on from home or work?
Remote access to several of our databases is currently unavailable. We are working to resolve this issue.
You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may register for one online.
Please make sure that you are accessing this page via http://www.carnegielibrary.org/ and NOT clpgh.org. Click here to correct.
Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.
Magazines
| CUFTS | Available to everyone | |||
|
Built by Simon Frazer University, CUFTS allows you to look up a journal title, see in which databases it is indexed, and what the date ranges of full-text coverage, if any, are. Once you've found your databases, view our alphabetical list to see if the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh subscribes.
| ||||
| Expanded Academic ASAP | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full-text articles and citations on all topics, from accounting to zoology.
| ||||
| JSTOR |
Library Access (CLP Only) | No Remote Access | ||
|
Search full-text archives of many core scholarly journals, particularly in the humanities, social sciences & music.
| ||||
| OmniFile Mega (HW Wilson) | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Multi-disciplinary full-text database covering Art, Education, Social Science, the Humanities, Business, Science, Current Events, and more. Contains Indexing and Abstracting of 4000 journals, with Full Text from more than 2500 journals. Includes Full Text from 1995 forward, and Indexing from 1982 forward.
| ||||
| OmniFile Full Text Select (HW Wilson) | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
100% full-text multi-disciplinary database Art, Education, Social Science, the Humanities, Business, Science, Current Events, and more.
| ||||
| EBSCO EJS (Electronic Journal Service) | Main Library Only | No Remote Access | ||
|
Citations, with some abstracts & full text, for approximately 200 scholarly journals.
| ||||
| Readers' Guide Select (HW Wilson) | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full-text database containing indexing, abstracting, and full text of 200 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada.
| ||||
Newspapers
| CUFTS | Available to everyone | |||
|
Built by Simon Frazer University, CUFTS allows you to look up a journal title, see in which databases it is indexed, and what the date ranges of full-text coverage, if any, are. Once you've found your databases, view our alphabetical list to see if the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh subscribes.
| ||||
| Infotrac Newsstand | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
This full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section or other fields, eliminating random searching through newspaper archives. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.
| ||||
| The Jewish Criterion | Available to anyone | |||
|
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project from the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries features The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962). Two other Jewish newspapers, The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present) will be added to the PJN database.
| ||||
| Newspaper Archive |
Library Access
(Pennsylvania Department Only) | NO Remote Access | ||
|
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
| ||||
| The Pittsburgh Courier (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Explore local history with this full-text archive of The Pittsburgh Courier. Covers the years 1911-2002.
| ||||
| Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Website Search | Available to anyone | |||
|
Articles posted on post-gazette.com since 1998. Does not include the entire archives of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.
| ||||
| Tribune-Review Website Search | Available to anyone | |||
|
Site search is limited to articles published on the website since 2001. Does not include all articles published by the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.
| ||||

How Do I










